Summit 2003
Findings and Outcomes
Agenda
Session Notes
Presenter Bios
Presentation Slides
State Contacts
Partners
Related Web Sites
Photos
 
NCSET Home Page IDEA's That Work Home Page
Summit 2003 Homepage

Summit 2005 Site

Check Out

The Next

Summit !

June 14-15, 2005
Capital Hilton
Washington, DC

National Leadership Summit on Improving Results for Youth

State Contacts

For more information on State team priorities and action plans feel free to contact the state team leaders below:

Gale Sinnott
Chief of Rehabilitation Services
Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development
Division of Vocational Rehabilitation
801 W. 10th St., Suite A
Juneau AK 99801
(907) 465-6927
(907) 465-2856
gale_sinnott@labor.state.ak.us

Wendy Collison
Education Program Specialist
Arizona Department of Education
1535 West Jefferson , Bin 24
Phoenix AZ 85007
(602) 364-4026
(602) 542-5404
wcollis@ade.az.gov

Alice Parker
Assistant Superintendent, Director, Special Education
California Department of Education
1430 N Street #2401
Sacramento CA 95814-2220
(916) 445-4602
(916) 327-3706
aparker@cde.ca.gov

Ann Pearce
Supervisor
Colorado Department of Education
201 East Colfax Avenue
Denver CO 80203
(303) 866-6604
(303) 866-6811
pearce_a@cde.state.co.us

George Dowaliby
State Director of Special Education
Connecticut Department of Education
Bureau of Special Education and Pupil Services, Connecticut Department of Education
25 Industrial Park Road
Middletown CT 06457
(860) 807-2025
(860) 807-2047
george.dowaliby@po.state.ct.us

Nila Benito
Chairperson
Partners in Transition and Florida Developmental Disabilities Council
MHC 2113A, 13301 Bruce B Down Boulevard
Tampa FL 33612
(813) 974-7875
(813) 974-6115
benito@fmhi.usf.edu

Phillip Pickens
Director
Georgia Department of Education
Division for Exceptional Students
205 Jessie Hall Dr., 1870 Twin Towers East
Atlanta GA 30334
(404) 656-3963
(404) 651-6457
ppickens@doe.k12.ga.us

Barb Guy
Transition Consultant
Iowa Department of Education
400 East 14th Street
Des Moines IA 50319-0146
(515) 281-5265
(515) 242-6019
barbara.guy@ed.state.ia.us

Jacque Hyatt
Transition Specialist
Idaho Department of Education
Bureau of Special Education
650 West State Street
Boise ID 83720-0027
(208) 332-6912
(208) 334-4664
jhaytt@sde.state.id.us

Debra Heckenkamp
Special Ed Consultant
Illinois State Board of Education
100 North 1st Street MCN243
Springfield IL 62777
(217) 782-5589
(217) 782-0372
dheckenk@isbe.net

Zo Ann Torrey
Kansas State Department of Education
120 SE 10th Avenue
Topeka KS 66612
(785) 296-4949
(785) 296-6715
ztorrey@ksde.org

Sheila Holloway
Consultant
Ohio Valley Educational Cooperative
PO Box 1249
Shelbyville KY 40066
(504) 647-3533
(502) 647-3581
sholloway@ovec.coop.k12.ky.us

Debra Dixon
Program Manager Specialized Services
Louisiana Department of Education
Division of Special Populations
PO Box 94064
Baton Rouge LA 70804
(225) 342-3640
(225) 342-3281
debra.dixon@la.gov

Madeline Levine
CSPD Coordinator
Massachusetts Department of Education
Special Education Planning and Policy Development
Boston MA 02120
(781) 338-3381
(781) 338-3396
mlevine@doe.mass.edu

Tom Barkley
Transition Specialist
Maryland State Department of Education
200 West Baltimore Street, 9th Floor
Baltimore MD 21201
(410) 767-0231
(410) 333-8163
tbarkley@msde.state.md.us

David Stockford
Director of Special Services
Maine Department of Education
23 State House Station
Augusta ME 04333-0023
(207) 624-6650
(207) 624-6651
david.stockford@state.me.us

Beth Steenwyk
Deputy Director
Special Education and Early Intervention Services
608 West Allegan
Lansing MI 48933
(517) 373-0923
(517) 373-7504
steenwykb@mi.gov

Jayne Spain
Transition Specialist
Minnesota Department of Education
Special Education
1500 Highway 36 West
Roseville MN 55113
(651) 582-8515
(651) 582-8729
jayne.spain@state.mn.us

Melody Bounds
Bureau Director
Mississippi Department of Education
State Department of Education
359 North West Street
Jackson MS 39205
(601) 359-3498
(601) 359-1829
mbounds@mde.k12.ms.us

Dick Trerise
School Improvement/ Transition Coordinator
Office of Public Instruction
Office of Public Instruction
1300 11th Avenue
Helena MT 59620-2501
(406) 444-1579
(406) 444-3924
dtrerise@state.mt.us

Freda Lee
Educational Consultant
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
6356 Mail Service Center
Raleigh NC 27699
(919) 807-3989
(919) 807-3243
flee@dpi.state.nc.us

Val Fischer
Transition Coordinator
ND Department of Public Instruction
600 East Boulevard Avenue, Department 201
Bismark ND 58505
(701) 328-2277
(701) 328-4149
vfischer@state.nd.us

Jack Shepard
State Transition Coordinator
Nebraska Department of Education
1117 East South Street
Box 2047
Hastings NE 68902
(402) 463-5716 ext. 137
(402) 463-9555
jshepard@nde.state.ne.us

Mary Ford
State Director/ Division of Instruction
New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street
Concord NH 03301
(603) 271-6693
(603) 271-1953
mford@ed.state.nh.us

Bob Haugh
Project Coordinator
New Jersey Department of Education
Office of Special Education Programs
PO 500
Trenton NJ 08625
(609) 633-6431
(609) 984-8422
robert.haugh@doe.state.nj.us

Sue Gronewald
Director of Transition Services
SDE Special Education Unit
Education Building
300 Don Gaspar
Santa Fe NM 87501
(505) 827-6553
(505) 827-6791

Gloria Yepa
Education Specialist
Bureau of Indian Affairs, Center for School Improvement
500 Gold Avenue, SW 7th Floor, PO Box 1088
Albuquerque NM 87103
(505) 248-7541
(505) 248-7545
gyepa@bia.edu

Lawrence Dennis
Ohio Dept. of Education
Office for Exceptional Children
25 South Front Street, 2nd Floor
Columbus OH 43215-4183
(614) 466-2650
(614) 752-1429
lawrence.dennis@ode.state.oh.us

Jodi Hanson
Coordinator
Oklahoma State Department of Education
Special Education Services
2500 North Lincoln
Oklahoma City OK 73105
(405) 521-6137
(405) 522-3503
jodi_hanson@sde.state.ok.us

Fran Warkomski
Director, Bureau Of Special Education
Pennsylvania Department of Education
7th Floor, POE
333 Market Street
Harrisburg PA 17102
(717) 783-2311
fwarkomski@state.pa.us

Vince Leon Guerrero
Associate Superintendent
Guam Department of Education
SPED
PO Box DE
Hagatna Pacific Islands 96932
(671) 475-0555
(671) 475-0562
doesped1@ite.net

J. David Sienko
Project Coordinator
RI Transition, Independence, Employment
UCE/ Rhode Island College
255 Westminister Street, Shepard Building
Providence RI 02903
(401) 222-4600 x2216
(401) 222-6030
rid03249@ride.ri.net

Katherine Fender
Transition Education Associate
South Carolina Department of Education
1429 Senate Street, Room 503
Columbia SC 29201
(803) 734-8483
(803) 734-4605
kfender@sde.state.sc.us

Betsy Valnes
Co-Vice Chair
Black Hills Special Services, Transition Services Liaison Project
Central Region Liaison for South Dakota
221 S Central Avenue
Pierre SD 57501
(605) 224-5336
bvalnes@tie.net

Judy Haston
Transition Coordinator
Tennessee Department of Education
TN Department of Education
710 James Robertson Parkway, AJT 5th Floor
Nashville TN 37243
(615) 741-3775
(615) 532-9412
judy.haston@state.tn.us

Susan Loving
Transition Specialist
Utah State Office of Education
250 East 500 South
PO Box 144200
Salt Lake City UT 84114-4200
(801) 538-7645
(801) 538-7991
sloving@usoe.k12.ut.us

Robin Barton
Secondary Transition Specialist
Virginia Department of Education
POB 2120 101 North 14th Street
Richmond VA 23218-2120
(804) 225-2700
(804) 371-8796
rbarton@mail.vak12ed.edu

Belinda West-O'Neal
State Director
Department of Education
Division of Special Education
#44-46 Kongens Gade
St. Thomas VI 00802
(340) 776-5802
(340) 774-0817
bwoneal@usviosep.org

Michael Ferguson
Consultant
Vermont Department of Education
120 State Street
Montpelier VT 05620
(802) 828-5110
(802) 828-0573
mferguson@doe.state.vt.us

Cinda Johnson
Director/P.I.
Center for Change in Transition Services
University of Washington
Box 357925
Seattle WA 98195-7925
(206) 543-4011
(206) 543-8480
cindajoh@u.washington.edu

Steve Gilles
Consultant-Transition
Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
Department of Public Instruction
PO Box 7841
Madison WI 53707-7841
(608) 266-1146
(608) 267-3746
Steve.Gilles@dpi.state.wi.us

Mary Brown
Program Consultant
Wyoming Department of Education
440 North 4th West A
Riverton WY 82501
(307) 857-5971
mbbrown@onewest.net

 

Findings & Outcomes   •   Agenda  •   Session Notes   •   Presenter Bios

Presentations   •   State Contacts   •   Partners   •   Related Sites   •   Photos

 

The National Leadership Summit Web page is part of the National Center on Secondary Education and Transition Web site.

National Center on Secondary Education and Transition
Institute on Community Integration
College of Education and Human Development

University of Minnesota
6 Pattee Hall, 150 Pillsbury Drive SE
Minneapolis MN 55455
612-624-5659
ncset@umn.edu
http://www.ncset.org/

Wordmarks of the College of Education and Human Development, and the University of Minnesota

© 2005 Regents of the University of Minnesota
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Online Privacy Policy